Daily Archives: December 17, 2010

With delay in Taipei

So I did get stuck during my trip over to Taiwan. A delay on my flight from Frankfurt to Beijing, which only grew bigger as the flight went on, made me miss my connection by a long shot. The long line at the “Transfers Ticketing Counter” told me I wasn’t the only one. Thus, the attendants at the counter knew what they had to do. Without much hesitation they rerouted my luggage (my lime-green rucksack) and booked me on the next flight which happened to leave the next morning.

Only when it came to explaining what I have to do and where to go in English and deciphering their handwritten note with numbers and arrows that looked like a mind-map rather than instructions, is when it all became rather complicated. Apparently there was a place I’ll be able to spend the night for free and I’m scheduled to leave at 8:35 in the morning. But finding where I had to go was regular goose hunt. I was sent from counter to counter only to be told the things I already knew. Until finally someone remembered to mention the “International Flights Manager” desk, who without further investigation of my papers just sent me to wait in line with a small group of people who all have to involuntarily spend the night in Beijing, too.

Once at the hotel, it turned out that the offered “free” accommodation would only be free if I share the room with another traveler. But with a fee of 120RBM (~17 CHF) I could buy myself some peace of mind in a single room, where I could snore and fart as I please. The room was big, the night was short, but it was great to be in a real bed nonetheless.

At least I can say I was in China now — I even have a one-day “Stay Permit” in my passport to proof it. Well, except for the airport and the hotel I didn’t see much. When arriving at the hotel the big orange sun was already setting in the mist. And in the morning at 6am… well, it was morning at 6am, what do you expect?

I did however get a beautiful birds-eye view from about Ulan Bator to Beijing, including seeing part of the Great Wall. This part of the world sure isn’t the most colorful in winter time. A sparse, pretty flat landscape with some moderate hills and sharp crevasses cutting their way thru the brownish ground. Sprinkled with the occasional small community with their houses neatly aligned along a horizontal grid. And every now and then an industrial compound, eating away a hill or puffing smoke up in the air. And along one river it boasted one of the largest wind energy power plants I’ve ever seen.

So on a non-communication level China and I got along quite well. But once back at the airport, where I found comfort in the universal brand of Starbucks, I still can’t say for sure if I got what I ordered. When the girl handed me the drink it didn’t sound anything like the simple “Cappuccino Grande” I ordered. But just give me (a lot of) time and I’ll get the hand of that language barrier, too.

Long story short, I made it safe to Taiwan, got welcomed in Taipei with open arms, had my first traditional dinner and I’m pretty open to what will be to come.