Taiwan Bye-Bye… ;(


Soon my stay in Taiwan will be over. As with most vocations, it’s gone by too fast. Taiwan has so much to offer — 11 days sure doesn’t do this lovely country justice. But I’ll take with me all the great memories of this modern city, the traditional culture and my best friends.

And those memories are a plenty:
Enjoying the view from the top of the second highest building of the world.
Being part of a beautiful wedding.
Having two of my friends realize that they were friends as small kids.
Floating over the forest in a gondola, up to Maokong mountain.
Seeing traditional as well as new, contemporary art.
Or simply forgetting the afternoon plans while sitting on the balcony of the Red Castle cafe in Danshui.
DSC_0898

And most of all, being so well taken care of and looked after. I could not be more thankful for the hospitality of my friends and their families. Great times! Thank you! 🙂

Getting to taste some of the nastiest delicatessen I’ve come by so far (yeah, I’m talking to you Stinky Tofu and Pig Blood Cake) on the other hand was… well… nasty. But I’m willing to look past that as it sure was to my friends’ entertainment and neither bite did me any harm (as far as I can tell).

Well, tomorrow evening my backpack and I will head back west, on a 4 hour jump to Thailand. May the temperature shock be my biggest struggle when getting there.

Leave a comment